Speaker Abbot award

Last Monday I was pleased to attend the ceremony in the Speakers House for the 2008 Speaker Abbot award.

The Speaker Abbot award was launched by the Parliamentary Press Gallery in 2003. It is awarded to a journalist who is considered to have made the greatest contribution internationally to the protection, promotion and perpetuation of parliamentary democracy. The object is to honour a journalist who, in the opinion of the judges, has suffered for the cause of democracy and to secure maximum exposure for his/her actions.

The joint winners this year are Jonathan Paye-Layleh from Liberia and the imprisoned Michel Kilo from Syria. Jonathan Paye-Layleh is a correspondent for the BBC World Service and AP, and Michel Kilo of Reporters without Borders. I had for the second year been pleased to be one of the judges for this award. Full details are here

Later in the week I had a separate meeting in Parliament with Jonathan Paye-Layleh.

posted 2 November 2008


The Labour Party will place cookies on your computer to help us make this website better.

Please read this to review the updates about which cookies we use and what information we collect on our site.

To find out more about these cookies, see our privacy notice. Use of this site confirms your acceptance of these cookies.